Brief on Turkey

Official name: Republic of Turkey
Area: 779,452 km ²
Population: 68,000,000 inhabitants
Density: 87 h / km ²
Official language: Turkish
Religions: Muslim (99%), other (1%)
Capital: Ankara
Major Cities: Istanbul, Ankara, Izmir, Adana, Bursa, Gaziantep, Antalya, Konya, Kocaeli, Trabzon.
Currency: Turkish lira
Political form: Presidential republic, Democracy since 1946.
Administrative divisions: 81 provinces
Some organizations to which it belongs: UN, Council of Europe, OECD, NATO, the Black Sea Economic Cooperation, OCE
Official time: GMT +2 hours (normal), +3 (summer)
National holiday: 29 Oct., Republic Day, April 23, the day of children.
Nationality: Turkish
Republic straddles Eastern Europe and Western Asia, among which shares its territory. Is between 36 ° and 42 ° north latitude and 26 ° and 45 ° east longitude.Bulgaria is bordered to the northwest, north to the Black Sea, northeast Georgia and Armenia, east by Iran, southeast Iraq, southern Syria and the Mediterranean Sea, and west to the Aegean Sea and Greece.

Open chat